Often I mix traditional drawing or painting with my digital work by importing the traditional work to the iPad. In the case, I began with one of my morning sketches – ink marker on paper.


Next, I color the drawing, almost like a coloring book.


Then I remove the original drawing and duplicate the color layer to deepen the texture. I also added a paper texture in the background layer.


I like working like this as it blends the spontaneity of my original sketch with the more developed digital work. Sometimes I will add two or three layers of background texture. Here, I added some metal:


I also added some printed text to the background. I like sketching with pen and pencil on old phone directories or out of date dictionaries and wanted to add that element to the digital work.


Then I usually make a series of variations by manipulating the layers. The possibilities are endless. Here’s a few.

